The Southwest Water Authority (SWA), a political subdivision, was established by the North Dakota State Legislature in 1991. SWA is governed by a 15-member board of directors representing the following counties: Adams, Billings, Bowman, Dunn, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger, Mercer, Morton, Oliver, Slope and Stark, the cities of Dickinson and Mandan.

The Southwest Pipeline Project (SWPP) is state owned and administered by the North Dakota State Water Commission (SWC). The SWPP transports raw water from Lake Sakakawea to Dickinson where it is treated and delivered to the project’s customers in southwest North Dakota and Perkins County, South Dakota. SWA is responsible for the management, operations and maintenance of the Project.

Since 1986, the SWPP has been constructing an efficient network of pipelines, pump stations, reservoirs, and treatment facilities to bring southwest North Dakota an adequate quantity of quality water. To date, 33 communities, more than 6,300 rural service locations, 26 contract customers, 23 raw-water customers, two rural water systems, three crew camps and two raw water depots are served by the Pipeline.


Latest Digital Offer

Helpful Links