The North Dakota Sunflower Council was created in 1977 under the Sunflower Industry Promotion Act and the state was divided into six sunflower producing districts with one representative from each district serving on the Council (S. L. 1977, Ch. 52). In 1985 (S. L. 1985, Ch. 52) a seventh district was added increasing the Council to seven members with the Agriculture Commissioner as an ex-officio member assuming responsibility for overseeing district elections. The objective of the Council was to promote better methods of production, marketing, and processing for sunflowers. A tax assessment on sunflowers grown or sold in the state was used by the Council for activities including research and advertising. A chairman was elected from within the Council. Council members served three-year terms and could serve only two consecutive terms.

Latest Digital Offer

Helpful Links